Galapagos Islands

July 2001

Communication campaign for the establishment of no-take areas in the Galapagos Marine Reserve

The Galapagos consists of 19 islands and 107 islets, 600 miles west of the coast of Ecuador. The Galapagos Marine Reserve is the second largest marine park in the world. Many Galapagos residents, however, have not been educated about the consequences of overfishing. As a result, the marine ecosystem is under severe pressure, and fishing capacity is strained. Several no-take (no fishing) reserves are currently planned in the Galapagos, but these will be successful only with the support of the fishing community.

With Seacology’s assistance, the Charles Darwin Research Station will create and distribute printed materials, videos, and radio spots to increase the understanding of Galapagos residents about the need to preserve their marine environment and the benefits of no-take reserves.

Project Updates
June 2007
Following an agreement in 2004 between Galapagos Marine Reserve stakeholders, the Galapagos National Park Service and the Ecuadorian Navy “take" and "no-take zones” were physically marked...
Read More
July 2004
The boundaries of the "no-take" areas have yet to be established. This year a commission is being formed to determine the no-take zone areas and will be comprised of representatives from the...
Read More

1623 Solano Ave.
Berkeley, CA 94707 USA

© 2020 Seacology All Rights Reserved